Since 200 years ago people from Rio, the cariocas, move up the hills surrounding Rio for the summer, to enjoy the healthy mild temperature.
In 1857, Emperor Pedro II inaugurated his summer palace in Petrópolis in a land that was before Fazenda do Corrego Seco ( Dried Brook Farm), inherited from his father, and the Court began to spend summers there. The mansion where is today Pousada da Alcobaça was built in 1914 by a steel mill owner for his family vacations, in the district of Correias, in lands that used to be part of the farm of Reverend Correia. This farm was used since the XVIII century as a resting place for travellers heading to Minas Gerais on 'mule trains'. One of these travellers was Sir Richard Francis Burton, English Consul in Santos, in his trip to São João del Rey Mining Co. The watercolour by an unknown English author* (right. Bellow), painted in the grounds of Pousada da Alcobaça in the beginnng of XIX century, shows the mountains called Alcobaças, and proves for how long ago this place has been charming visitors.